Day 7

Counce, TN to Grenada, MS – 228.7 miles

Today had another slow start, but for a very different reason. I woke up to several missed phone calls and text messages from my brother and dad. I have been anticipating these calls during this trip for two possible reasons…one very happy and one very sad. Unfortunately today it was the latter. My mom battled Multiple Sclerosis for over 35 years and took her last breaths this morning. My family had been expecting this day for some time now and we were as prepared as can be expected for such an event. Much of the morning was spent figuring out the immediate next steps. 

After a rough morning, Naomi and I packed up the bikes to head down the trail further west. As counter intuitive as it may seem, heading west will take me back east sooner. We quickly left Tennessee and passed into Mississippi without so much as a welcome sign. The only indication we had crossed a border was a distinct seam in the pavement and a dotted line on the GPS. However, the change in scenery after just a few miles was not nearly as discrete. Green rolling hills of open crops were now red clay hills of pine trees and clear running streams had turned into muddy stagnant water. Temps were pushing the upper 90s, so we were more than happy to leave the hot pavement and twist our throttles through clay backcountry. Other than our tires getting a bit squirrelly on several sandy portions and narrowly avoiding dropping into the abyss of a few clay ruts, our time on the road was very uneventful…thankfully. I feel like I’ve had enough for one day. 

  
We easily made our goal and drove south a few miles to find a room for the night. Our restaurant choice had a delicious steak and several cold beers waiting for us. 

Today’s lesson: We only get one shot at this wonderful and disastrous life. Choose wisely on what you spend your energy and limited time. 

Check Out My Spots

18 thoughts on “Day 7

  1. I was concerned when I saw the change of your Facebook profile picture. I don’t know what to say or what help to offer. I can’t imagine how you feel.
    Take care and lean on the love of all your family and friends.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am sorry for your loss Katie and that you could not be there with her before she passed that last breath. Know she will always be with you and remember her before the days MS took over. I am sure she taught you to appreciate everyday you have to the fullest so remember her by enjoying your ride and treasuring every moment you get while doing so. Love Deeply, Live Emmensely and Cry Often. You and your family are in my thoughts

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Katie, sorry to hear about your mom. My brother passed away from the same disease in Sept.2004. As hard as is to say my family was relieved for him as he was suffering. Hello to Naomi and Keep On Truck’in!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Our heart goes out to you two, Katie and Naomi. We are so sorry to hear the news. The blessing; she is probably walking, breathing and feeling so at peace right now. She’s looking down very proud of the person you’ve become. Just from the little I know of your mother, she’s taught you that every moment counts. Do what you love and dance while you can. 🙂 Wish we could go grab a cold one with you guys and talk about ..whatever. Lots of love coming your way. Fly like the wind out there!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You are in my thoughts!!! She raised a beautiful strong woman and I’m sure extremely proud of you and who you have become! Let me know if you need anything and I’ll be there! Hugs to you and Dad!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

